Straight Up Style Has The X Factor in MACS Mag

I was interviewed for the latest issue of MACS magazine where I talked about Straight Up Stye, X Factor and all things Paula. See below for a sample of the article and click on the link below for the whole piece. Hope you enjoy!

Katy Scarlet Taylor is a successful international freelance Fashion Stylist based in London.  She has been the official stylist for the EMA MTV Awards VIP After Party for the last four years, Stylist to the stars, worked for  various glossy magazines among them Vogue and is the Head Stylist for superstar party planners, Quintessentially Events. She rates style over fashion, loves skinny leather & PVC trousers, dancing till sunrise, ice in her drinks and neon – especially pink!

Katy has recently started a successful blog called ‘Straight Up Style’ which is a fashion diary of all Paula Abdul’s style choices leading up and through the US X Factor, showing on ITV2 Thursday & Friday night’s at 8pm. You can find out what Paula is wearing, where you can buy it, style tips and how to recreate her looks. MACS Magazine’s Editor Corrina Mccann sat down with Katy over a Mojito (or two!) at Soho House to talk fashion, style secrets, X Factor & all things Paula.

You’ve just come back from The EMA MTV Awards what was that like? Amazing! The MTV team did a fabulous job and it was a wicked ceremony and after party. I’ve never experienced anything like Bieber mania in my life. There were girls screaming every time anyone exited the hotel and for Belfast it was a huge deal after all the problems there it was so nice to have something positive to focus on. MTV did an awesome after party with several differently styled up rooms from a neon planet space to a futuristic area. All the stars came to the after party from Katy Perry to Jessie J who both danced along to Katy B’s live set. I didn’t get in until late that’s all I’ll say!

What made you want to become a Fashion Stylist? When I was growing up I always loved women’s magazines and dressing up so I think it stemmed from there. I didn’t go to Fashion College like a lot of people do instead I did an English degree followed by a M.A. My first proper job was as a Sport’s Journalist which people never believe when I tell them. After that I wrote a lot about women and identity and got into styling when I first started working on women’s magazines.

What made you start your blog Straight Up Style? Firstly, I thought it was a great idea and I kind of promised myself if Paula got the gig on the US X Factor I would start the blog. I’ve been watching the show in the UK for years and know how important fashion becomes especially among the female judges on the show with the public. Everyone is fascinated to see what they step out wearing and who they are wearing and who looks better! I thought the same thing would happen in the U.S and I liked the idea of the blog coming from a professional fashion stylist’s opinion, incorporating a high fashion look and of course I love Paula – she’s fabulous to watch. I think Simon Cowell once called her ‘TV gold’ and he’s so right, she’s hysterical! As a stylist she’s absolutely gorgeous looking and reminds me of a very tiny, exotic Barbie doll – and I mean that in the best possible way!

For the full interview click here:

http://magazine.macs-salon.co.uk/2011/12/straight-up-style-has-the-x-factor/  

4 responses to “Straight Up Style Has The X Factor in MACS Mag

  1. It’s a fantastic interview Katy! The thing you say about Paula are super sweet. You sure deserve praise for your blog!!!

  2. Thanks Nea that’s very sweet of you and thank you for your comments. If you are on Twitter it would be great if you could send the link to Paula. Fingers crossed for tonight! X

  3. Thanks for all your comments and support xx

Leave a comment