Ruthie Davis has The X Factor

Like me, if you’ve been looking on enviously at Paula Abdul’s shoes recently for the X Factor auditions then you may like to know Paula’s fave footwear choice ….

On more than one occasion Paula has been seen out in the most fabulous heels from one of my favorite designers, Ruthie Davis. I have been starring at her website longingly and simply adore every fierce and bold pair she designs!

Ruthie’s shoes are truly heroine heels made to empower a woman every time she puts a pair on. Her obsession with shoes can be traced back to the age of two when she tried on her first pair of red patent leather mary-janes. Ruthie loved them so much she wore them right out of the store and, according to her mother, to bed that night!

Since that moment Ruthie’s love-affair with shoes has transformed into designing some of the most sought after shoes in the world. Celebrities from Paula Abdul to Beyoncé, Lady Gaga, Rihanna and many more of the world’s biggest superstars all have her shoes in their closets.

Ruthie has certainly proved she has The X Factor not only for designing footwear for a host of stars but like Paula Abdul, but she has become an inspiring mentor and promoter of ‘woman power’. As a woman running her own business, Ruthie is an inspiration to all women all over the world, someone who is taking risks and going after her dreams. This week I spoke to the very lovely Ruthie Davis about her X Factor killer style …

Ruthie, what do you think it is about shoes that are so empowering and emboldening?

On a very basic level, a little extra height is always a beautiful, confident thing… and a beautiful shoe is the foundation of the house that is a strong woman. To me, strength and confidence is beauty.

Which are your favourite pair of ‘Hero’ shoes, the ones that make you feel you can run the world, and give you that X-Factor?

My favorite pair of Hero shoes right now are my Black Microcompact Booties… When I put those on, I feel like I’m automatically transformed into a Bond Girl. Sexy and unstoppable.

Fill in this blank – Ruthie Davis shoes make me feel….

“10 feet tall…”

If you were designing some couture shoes for Paula, what would they be like, and why?

They’d be high heels with a lot of accoutrements, Swarovski crystals, glitter, studs… Sexy with sporty elements, like Paula. Perhaps, a high glam, yet girlie peep toe… Maybe a Mary-Jane in rose gold with studs and a strap in hot pink stingray.

Who was your mentor / inspiration?

I’ve looked up to many people in my life… But, as a shoe designer, I’m not sure I have a role model, as I always feel as if I’m navigating new territory. I think part of being a good designer is jumping off that creative cliff on your own…But, I’m always inspired by all the girls who wear my shoes, whoever they may be… They inspire me and, hopefully, I inspire them.

For more information on Ruthie Davis and her designs pls see her gorgeous website http://www.ruthiedavis.com/ for all stockest information.

10 responses to “Ruthie Davis has The X Factor

  1. Great interview Katy – I love her shoes they are fierce!

  2. I would die for some of her shoes – they are so cool no wonder Paula wears them xx

  3. Paula always wears great shoes, i’m so jealous ;) This is a great read thank you!

  4. Love this blog! I hope Paula knows about it, it’s great seeing her get positive comments on her style and especially as you are a professional stylist! Aren’t Ruthie’s shoes the best?

  5. I bet Paula would love this blog too! Where can I find Ruthie’s shoes? thay are HOT!

  6. Katy – this is th best! I hope Paula wears some of her shoes on The X Factor live shows they ROCK! X

  7. I’m a big big Paula fan and I love this blog. I will be checking out Ruthie Davis’s shoes now for sure! Can’t wait to see all her outfits on The X Factor. XX

  8. Her website is awesome and I would kill for a pair of her shoes lol. Paula is very lucky she get’s to wear them! x

  9. Paula wore a pair of Ruthie Davis shoes when she wore that white dress to promote the X Factor didn’t she? They were so high! AND when she went to the X Factor premier those gold spike shoes, they were killer! Thanks Katy, Paula would love this blog!

  10. Fantastic interview Katy! You are multi-talented, I see! Paula’s shoes have always been to die for, but recently I just stare at her feet with unhidden envy. I would love to see Ruthie design shoes for Paula. She could call them Paula-Julies. Hehe. Little lame joke on the side. ;)

Leave a comment