The X Factor USA Auditions, Dallas, 21 June 2011

 

Paula’s white and black collar mini has been causing me a bit of a dilemma. Ever since I saw her strut into the auditions in Dallas, I can’t make up my mind if it’s a hit or a miss. There’s part of me that loves it. It’s cute, on trend with the collar, the colours are great against her skin and her legs look fab! What I’m struggling with it has the look of a dress you might see on a cocktail waitress.  For me the dress makes Paula’s top half look slightly boxy and that is due to the high collar, halterneck style and because she is so tiny. The bottom half of the dress is much better because it really shows off her tiny waist and is fun but structured. I think it also probably one of those dresses that look much better in the flesh than it does in print. Paula has gotten it really right with her make up with a little colour on the cheeks and on the lips and emphasising her eyes with lots of black liner. This time her hair isn’t my favourite as it is a little severe pushed back but matches the cutness of the overall look she is aiming for. Finally, if you’re looking for a similar dress to Paula’s this new black and white dress from ASOS at 40 GBP  or 82 USD  is a great match to get the look.

Leave a comment